On the digitally remastered ‘Gone with the wind’

Recently I went to see ‘Gone with the wind’ in my local art cinema. I’ve seen this movie many times before but watching on a big screen was a real treat.

It is amazing to think that the movie first came out in 1939 is still as relevant and appealing now.
It is not only the one of the most incredible love stories of all times, it shows social history that we perhaps don’t know so well. Last year I saw Lincoln, showing the movement to end slavery from the Northern perspective. This is based in the same time but from the perspective of the South.

Ultimately, though, it’s a story of a woman. A woman, who despite being spoiled and naive in her youth, found strength and courage to overcome all life’s challenges. More strength and courage than most men around her had. She hasn’t achieved things conventional way, she ruined her reputation, she hasn’t made any friends. What was expected of females then was to sit quietly and sigh. She organised her land, made friends with ‘the Yankees’, started her own business and made sure that none of her family starved. She said:
‘As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me! I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again! No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill! As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again!’

And she wasn’t. While others sat quietly complaining and worrying about their reputation and purity of their soul, she went out and saved them all. She despised people who were weak and self-pitying. Scarlett always inspired me and shaped my beliefs and in times of hardship, thinking of her gave me strength and perseverance to succeed.

Vivien Leigh has done the most stunning job playing Scarlett, no one could have done it better. Famously filming started without her as the director, Victor Flemming, wouldn’t cast any of hundreds of actresses that auditioned despite the time pressing on. So the scenes of Atlanta burning were already done and only then Vivien appeared, she became an iconic, most loved character. I think it was worth the wait!

Clark Gable, playing Rhett Butler, is basically my first love. He is fantastic, witty and unlike most can pull off the moustache.

Overall, for those who haven’t seen it I would strongly recommend it – it is one of those movies that can change your life. For those who have seen it, see it again in the digitally remastered version – it ever so slightly enhances the visual experience.

Be warned, though, it lasts for over 4 hours. It even has an intermission. There really aren’t enough movies with intermissions anymore!

The very last words of the movie bring hope to me every time I hear them: ‘After all, tomorrow is another day!’ Use it to watch Gone with the Wind, you won’t regret it.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

